These features enable you to do file operations, like copying or moving files between two Explorer windows. To use some of these features there must be two Explorer windows being arranged with the “Arrange two Explorer windows…” function from the Arrange Explorer Windows menu. Alternatively you can specify a directory using the Destination shown if no aligned explorer is present.
A new subdirectory is created in the current (not the selected!) directory.
The new subdirectory is either named New Folder [nn] on drives with long filenames or Foldr[nn] on drives with 8.3 filenames, where [nn] represents a number. The new directory will be selected after creation and will be in edit mode in the list view of the explorer, so you can directly enter a new name for the directory.
A new path can be created. The Create New Path Dialog is shown.
Enter the new path into the input field. The complete path will be created including all subdirectories. If the entered path does not include a drive letter the newly created path is created relative to the current directory. If the path includes a drive letter, than the absolute path is created as given in the input field.
Example: If you enter “My Pictures\holiday\1989\Italy” all four directories are created relative to the current directory.
The files in the two directories of the aligned explorers are compared using this function. The Synchronisation Dialog is shown.
Two directories will be compared. The directories can be selected in the Synchronisation Wizard that will be shown.
The selected files in the file list of the active Explorer window are copied to the directory of the aligned Explorer. The standard windows copy file dialog is shown.
The selected files in the file list of the active Explorer window are moved to the directory of the aligned Explorer. The standard windows move file dialog is shown.
The files in the current directory of the active Explorer window are moved to the parent directory and the directory is deleted if successful.
If you select directories in the current directory (and only directories) then you are asked to move the content of the selected directories to the current. The selected directories will be deleted if sucessful.
The Clean directory dialog is shown. Using this dialog you can delete groups of files and directories within the current directory and its subdirectories.
The Rename Dialog is shown to rename all selected files at once.
A copy of the selected files is created. A new extension is added to the filename. You can enter the new extension into a dialog box. As default the dialog box shows the current date and time.
This function is useful to create backups of documents you work on e.g. while programming. You can backup multiple files and restore them with the “Restore old file version” function to their original file name.
This item is only available for files. It cannot make versions of directories.
The backup file is restored to the original file. This is made by deleting the extension which was appended to the filename by the “Create new file version” functions. The actual version will be overwritten by the backup.
This item is only available if all selected files have the same version extension.
This option selects all files with the same filename than the currently selected file within the current directory. Directories with the same name are not included into the selection.
This option selects all files with the same extension than the currently selected file. This is useful in connection with the “Restore old file version” function so select all files from the same backup.
Shows the Fileselect Dialog to select files by wildcards.
The sum of all file-sizes in all subdirectories is calculated for those directories that are visible in the file list of the Explorer.
The result of the calculated size is shown in the “Size” column of the file list, next to the directory name, at the same position where the size of files is shown. The file list of the Explorer window has to be in detail view, that the columns are visible. If the file list is not in detail view the view mode is changed.
Depending on the number of files the calculation may need a while. You can cancel the calculation by pressing ESC. If the calculation of the directory sizes did not finish after 30 seconds the calculation stops with an error beep.
Shows a dialog displaying the amount of free disk space on the current drive.