DMEX Synchronize Tool

Abstract

Using the Synchronize Tool you can make two directories to have the same content of files. This is especially useful for creating file based backups on USB drives etc.

CAUTION: The Synchronize progress copies files from the source directory to the target directory. Depending on the selected options it also deletes files and folders in the target directory as well as overwrites newer files.
This may result in extensive data loss if not handled with care!
Be aware of what you do!

The Synchronize tool automates synchronize processes by creating synchronize files. Synchronize files have the extension “.sync” and are bound to the Synchronize tool during installation. The synchronize file stores information about the directories to synchronize and which options to use.
The Synchronize tool can (dmexsync.exe) be launched via the Start menu or by double click on any synchronize (*.sync) file.

The synchronize files are created via a wizard interface that is opened when dmexsync is launched without parameters. The wizard then writes the synchronize file to the desired location. You can start the synchronize process as you like by doubleclicking the synchronize file or start it via commandline, batch jobs, shedulers etc.

Wizard interface

The wizard interface is described in the helpfile. (Please note that clicking the link you will leave the context of this homepage).

Synchronize Dialog

The synchronize dialog is described in the helpfile. (Please note that clicking the link you will leave the context of this homepage).